Österreichischer Kunstsenat

Österreichischer Kunstsenat

General Information

Year of Foundation:  1954

The Österreichische Kunstsenat (Austrian Art Senate) was founded in 1954 and is a society consisting of 21 recipients of the Grand Austrian State Prize in the areas of architecture, fine arts, literature and music. 


The duties of the Art Senate include representing the interests of the arts in the public realm, consulting public bodies in important issues in the arts, and suggesting measures to  maintain cultural substance and the support of the arts. They are also responsible for nominations for the Grand Austrian State Prize and suggesting new members for itself. Confirmation of the suggestions takes place in the responsible ministry.

Awarding Organisation of (Person)

Contact, Links