© Axie Breen

Meier Manuela


# Title Year of Originsort icon Instrumentation Category
1 NEW WORK 2017 - 2018
2 otherwise 2017
3 I Have Been Here Before - for violin, double bass and ensemble 2017 - 2018
4 if only it were not bound to 2016
5 one more could be beyond - for string trio and ensemble 2016
6 receptive field 2016
7 what you see, is it 2016
8 emergent properties #1 2015
9 elicitation of peripheries 2015
10 iterate no trace 2015
11 genus:cyathea - for ensemble 2014
12 biotope00 2014
13 muku 2013 - 2014
14 epar 2013
15 cada - for two percussionists 2012
16 lucanae 2012
17 mirage (Luftspiegelung) 2011
18 ione 2011
19 rhyolite revisited - for soprano-saxophone and accordion 2011
20 rhyolite 2010
21 String Quartet No.1 - 'parapente, achillea' 2009
22 five 2009
23 fluctuations I-IV 2009
24 refract.ed 2009
25 underground sounds - sonic explorations with earthquake data 2007
26 indigo - [\pines] 2007
27 credo 2007
28 frame 2006
29 2819 - 2 rooms - (versions 1-3) 2005 - 2006
30 obtrusive campanula 2004

General Information



Manuela Meier studied Composition and Accordion at the University of Music in Graz and Queen's University Belfast (UK). Currently she is undertaking a PhD in Composition at Harvard University. Composer of instrumental and electroacoustic pieces, as well as performer of New Music works and improvisation.


Manuela Meier's works have been performed at festivals, conferences and concerts such as the Sonorities Festival of Contemporary Music in Belfast, the Festival Next Generation at the Center for Art and Media (ZKM) in Karlsruhe, the Steirischer Herbst Festival/Musikprotokoll in Graz, the Centro Mexicano para la Música y las Artes Sonoras (CMMAS) in Mexico and the Melbourne Recital Centre in Australia. Her work has been played by ensembles such as the Arditti String Quartet, Stadler Quartett, Ensemble PHACE, STROMA New Music Ensemble, JACK Quartet and ELISION Ensemble.


further information and works at: http://mm.mur.at/


PeriodEducationInstrumentTeacherEducation OrganisationLocation

lessons with Geir Draugsvoll

lessons with James Crabb

composition studies

composition studies

composition studies

Queen's University Belfast (UK): composition studies (Piers Hellawell, Simon Mawhinney)

Harvard University (USA): PhD-studies in composition

Harvard University (USA): PhD-studies in composition (Hans Tutschku)

numerous master-classes on composition, i.a. with Brian Ferneyhough and Georges Aperghi


2011 - 2012

ensemble manager of STROMA New Music Ensemble (New Zealand, Michael Norris)

instrumentalist for accordion performances in Austria, the United Kingdom, Bosnia/Herzegovina, the Czech Republic, New Zealand and Australia and in telematic concerts with the USA, Canada and South Korea

Performances (Selection)


Kingston University London


National University of Ireland, Maynooth: Linux Audio Conference (LAC) 2011


Centro Mexicano para la Música y las Artes Sonoras (CMMAS), Mexico


Laboratorio Sensorial, Mexico


Melbourne Recital Centre, Australia


Stroma New Music Ensemble


IRZU - Institute for Sonic Arts Research, Ljubljana: Internatl. Computer Music Conference 2012


Harvard University: Jack Quartet


Harvard University: Elision Ensemble

Commissions (Selection)

PeriodCommissionCompositionCommissioner (Organisation)Commissioner (Person)

commission for an ensemble-piece, world-premiere in April 2018


PeriodAwardCompositionAwarding Organisation

promotional award of the Franz Liszt Kompositionswettbewerb


finalist of the Kingston University at the International Call for New Work

composition scholarship

composition scholarship

composition scholarship at the SWR Experimentalstudio

composition scholarship by Harvard University (USA), Arts Council of Northern Ireland (UK), Bliss Trust/PRS Foundation (UK), School of Music and Sonic Arts at Queen's University Belfast (UK), Kingston University London (UK), Djerassu Artist Residence Program (UK), Fohn-Stipendienstiftung (A)

Discography, Projects


  • 2007: "Impuls 2007" (concert live recordings, recorded at Florentinersaal, Graz)
  • 2005: "Tanguango" (Tanguango Tango Orchestra, recorded at Minoritensaal, Graz)
  • 2004: "Ensemble für Neue Musik" (concert live recordings, recorded at Minoritensaal, Graz)

Contact, Links