Registered as:


General Information

Year of Foundation:  1999

The Viennese band Curbs was founded in 1999 by Alex Wunderbar (ex-drummer for hip hop band Schönheitsfehler) and Alex Bunf (DJ in the Chelsea, one of the best venues in Vienna). In the summer 2000 they recorded over 40 demo songs. The debut gig in the Shelter brought the band to the attention of FM4, the biggest Austrian alternative radio station.

The band recorded their first single “Flower” at the beginning of 2001. It was mastered by legendary Chris Blair at Abbey Road Studios. The single and the b-side “Night” were played by FM4. The second single “1981” was recorded in spring 2002 and once again mastered at Abbey Road. In July 2002 it reached number 7 in the DJ-Charts.


After an appearance at the Gürtel Nightwalk Festival 2002 Curbs signed with Mario Rossori’s Pate Records. The album “Change Everything” was released in May 2003 to universal critical acclaim.


The video to “Music” soon went on heavy rotation on GoTV, the Austrian version of MTV. “Mutual Appreciation Society” was instantly the darling of the FM4 crew, who loved the humour of the lyrics. In the summer of 2003 Curbs presented the album to big crowds at the largest summer festivals in Austria (Nuke-Festival, Donauinselfest and Frequency Festival, appearing on the same stage as Travis, Ash and Placebo).


In the autumn Curbs supported Blur in front of nearly 4,000 people. The single “Sun” which was released at the end of the year was the highest new entry in the FM4 Charts and reached number 3 in the following weeks. The successful year 2003 was crowned with a nomination as FM4 Alternative Act for the biggest music award in Austria, the Amadeus.


In 2004 the band released another single, "Future Sound", from the album and supported Adam Green in Salzburg as well as Ash on two dates of their European Tour in Linz and Vienna. In November 2006 the band joined Mark Gardener (formerly of Ride) on stage in Vienna to play some of Ride's old hits such as "Twisterella" and "Vapour Trail". The new album "Out of Sight" and a single of the same name will be released in November 2007 on Pate Records.

Lineup/Description of Style

Band/Ensemble MemberInstrument
Gesang, Gitarre

further musicians:
Alex Bunf (bass)
Daniel Schrotter (guitar)
Paul Schiff (guitar, vocals)
Paul Pozarek (drums)

Discography, Performances, Projects


  • 2012: Colours
  • 2010: Decade
  • 2009: City Of Dreaming Spires
  • 2007: Out Of Sight
  • 2003: Change Everything

Contact, Links

Contact Person:  Wunderbar Alex