1st Austrian Women's Chamber Orchestra
also known as: 1. Frauen-Kammerorchester von Österreich
Registered as:

1st Austrian Women's Chamber Orchestra

General Information

Year of Foundation:  1982

The orchestra, which was founded by Brigitte Ratz, consists of 45 members and offers highly qualified women musicians, soloists, conductors and composers a network and a platform for concert events.


  • 100th Anniversary of the Nobel Peace Prize Awarded to Bertha von Suttner, sponsored by UNESCO and Austrian Federal President Dr. Heinz Fischer
  • 60 Years of the Israeli State/Jewish Memorial Series, sponsored by the Israeli Embassy
  • Spanish Music with Dance
  • Word and Music concerts

Lineup/Description of Style

Their repertoire includes rarities from the Baroque to the modern eras, as well as numerous territorial and world premières of music by women composers including Silvia Sommer, Nancy Van de Vate, Grete von Zieritz, Germaine Tailleferre and Elena Firssova (Mandelstam Cantatas, 2008).

Discography, Performances, Projects


  • "von Einem, Fürst, Gattermeyer, Freitag" (CD, Gramola 98708)
  • "Vaughan-Williams, Mozart, Prokofiev, Sulzer" (CD, Gramola 98710)


  • numerous invitations to all European countries as well as to China and Iran
  • Vienna’s Konzerthaus 
  • Odeon
  • ORF 
  • Salzburg Festival


Performing Organisation of (Person)

Commissioning Organisation of (Person)

Recording Band/Ensemble of (Composition)