Hannes Heher
Registered as:

Photo: Photo Simonis ©

Heher Hannes


# Title Year of Originsort icon Duration Instrumentation Category
1 Radio-Symphonie-Orchester-Stück - RSOS 2009 ~ 1m
2 In memoriam JH - für Klavier und Streichquartett 2009 ~ 7m
3 Mini-Musik III - Drei kleine Klavierstücke 2007 ~ 3m
4 Nachtwerk # 1 - für Theremin und Baritonsaxophon 2004 ~ 9m
5 Ungaretti-Miniaturen - für Sopran, Violine, Viola und Violoncello 2003 7m
6 Ungaretti-Miniaturen - für Bariton und Kammerensemble 2003 12m
7 Mini-Musik II - für Violine, Violoncello und Klavier 2002 ~ 6m
8 epilog in memoriam hEb - epilog in memoriam hEb 2000 ~ 10m
9 Mini-Musik I - für Klavier vierhändig 2000 - 2001 4m
10 Metamorphosen - für acht Instrumente 1999 11m
11 Sonatina - für Violine und Klavier 1997 11m
12 Nachtstück / Nachtmusik - für Violoncello und Orgel 1996 - 1997
13 Nachtmusik - für Violoncello und Streichorchester 1996 - 1997 ~ 11m
14 Brambach-Lieder - für Bass und Klavier 1996 - 1997 6m
15 Streichquartett "1995" - für 2 Violinen, Viola und Violoncello 1995 9m 15s
16 Variations - für Bratsche, Oboe und Harfe 1993 10m
17 Brecht-Lieder - für Sopran und Klavier 1992 - 1994 6m - 7m
18 Epigramme - für Klarinette, Violine, Viola und Violoncello 1991 - 1992 16m
19 Vier Lieder über die Liebe - für Sopran, Streichorchester und Pauken 1991 - 1992 12m
20 Epilog - für Streichtrio 1991 - 1992 7m
21 Zwei Stücke für Streichquartett - Bearbeitung zweier Klavierstücke von Wolfram Unger 1989 7m
22 Zwei Gesänge - für Orchester 1988 11m 30s
23 Zwei Chansons - für mittlere Singstimme und Klavier 1987 ~ 5m
24 Psalmenfragmente - für acht Solosingstimmen und Viola 1987 - 1989 10m - 11m
25 Vier Bilder nach Färöischen Texten von Christian Matras - für Bariton, Querflöte, Violoncello und Klavier 1986 7m
26 Studie für sieben Schlaginstrumente 1986 ~ 2m 30s
27 Sonate "1984" - für Klavier 1984 5m
28 In memoriam ... - für gemischten Chor a cappella und Sprecher 1984 7m
29 Drei Sätze - für gemischten Chor 1984 ~ 4m
30 Entwicklungen - für Tonband 1983 4m 45s
31 Drei lyrische Stücke - für Violoncello und Klavier 1983 - 1986 11m
32 quasi una sinfonia - Sieben Stücke für großes Orchester

General Information

Year of Birth:  1964
Date of Birth:  26. March 1964
Place of Birth:  Vienna
Region of Birth: 
Country of Birth: 


Born on March 26, 1964 in Vienna, he went to school in Neunkirchen, Lower Austria. During high school he received private piano and music theory lessons with pianist and composer Wolfram Unger, and at that time he made his first attempts at composing. After his school-leaving certification in 1982 he studied at the Academy for Music and the Performing Arts in Vienna (electro-acoustic and electronic music, music theory, music education, singing teaching), at Vienna University (history) and at the Vienna University of Technology (chemistry). He graduated with a Master of Arts in 1992. Since 2006 he has been working towards completing a doctorate at the Vienna University for Music and at Vienna University. Major influences as regards his compositions were gained through working with professors Karl Heinz Fuss and Heinz Kratochwil. Heher also paid great attention to the political and musical ideas of Hanns Eislers. In addition to his activities as a composer he has put a lot of energy into organising concerts of contemporary music (founder and chairman from 1988 to 2000 of "MUSIC ON LINE"), since 1999 staff member of ORF/Ö1 as music review editor, and, in addition, piano and singing teacher and musicologist (among other things, publisher of a work by E. Wellesz and K. Weigl) as well as active in the field of computers and new media.
He has been the vice-president of the Austrian Composers' Association since 2006, board member of the IGNM/Section Austria from 2004 to 2006, board member of the Egon Wellesz Fund with the Society of Friends of Music in Vienna since 1998.


Hannes Heher, 2007


PeriodEducationInstrumentTeacherEducation OrganisationLocation
1982 - 1983

technical chemistry

1982 - 1993

electro-acoustics and electronic music, music theory, music education, singing teaching

1982 - 1993

electro-acoustics and electronic music, music theory, music education, singing teaching

1987 - 1990


1990 - 1992

private lessons


completion of Master of Arts


doctoral studies


doctoral studies

teacher training for computer sciences


1988 - 2000

artistic director

1992 - 1995

Vienna, Lower Austria: teacher


since then: board member of the Egon Wellesz Fund with the Society of Friends of Music in Vienna


since then: music review editor

2004 - 2006

board member


since then: vice-president, head of the workshop on E-music

freelance musicology and editorial activity

Commissions (Selection)

PeriodCommissionCompositionCommissioner (Organisation)Commissioner (Person)


PeriodAwardCompositionAwarding Organisation

award winner at the workshop for choir composition


recognition award




work scholarship for music


work scholarship for composition


promotional award


promotional award


promotional award for composition


state scholarship for composition

Description of Style

The great Chinese social ethicist Mo Ti correctly recognised, over 2000 years ago, an essential shortcoming in music, when he wrote: "The fact that people are prompted to create musical instruments has three disadvantages: the hungry will not be satisfied through music, the cold will not be dressed and the tired will not be rested" (from Mo Ti [479-381 BC]: "About the Condemnation of Music"). In this sense, music - as my entirely personal language and maybe most important interpersonal form of communication - means more to me than a provisional edification, it is an attempt to truly reach into the life world of people, much more than a mere playing around with material or locking oneself up in an "avantgardian" ivory tower.


Hannes Heher, 1995/2007

Dedicatee of (Composition)

Contact, Links

Language:  German, English