Ensemble Nikel
Registered as:

Ensemble Nikel

General Information

Year of Foundation:  2006


Ensemble Nikel is a quartet consisting of saxophone, electric guitar, percussion and piano.
These instruments, mostly evolving in the 20th century were joined together to form a new chamber music output where electric and acoustic sounds are to be melted into a unified organism bridging between, not only different sources of mechanical waves, but also aesthetic prejudice and dichotomies of musical genres.


The ensemble continuously aims to explore its audio spectral artistic possibilities by initiating new conceptual projects with various partners, soloists and ensembles. The ensemble presents works by world-known established composers such as Chaya Czernowin, Clemens Gadenstätter, Philippe Hurel, Helmut Oehring or by such young prominent composers as Raphaël Cendo, Sivan Cohen Elias, Eduardo Moguillansky, Marco Momi, Stefan Prins and Michael Wertmüller.


Founded in 2006 by Yaron Deutsch and Gan Lev, the ensemble has already been invited to play in prestigious contemporary music festivals such as: Wien Modern, Donaueschinger Musiktage, Ultraschall (Berlin), Bang on a Can (New York), International Summer Course for New Music Darmstadt, Klangspuren (Schwaz) and Warsaw Autumn - only to name a few.

Lineup/Description of Style

Band/Ensemble MemberInstrument
electric guitar, artistic direction

further line-up:

  • Stadler Patrick - saxophone
  • Archinal Brian - percussion
  • Francoise Antoine - piano

Performing Organisation of (Person)

Commissioning Organisation of (Person)

Performing Band/Ensemble of (Composition)

Commissioning Organisation of (Composition)

Contact, Links

Contact Person:  Deutsch Yaron