Eggner Trio
Registered as:
Photocredit: Mischa Nawrata

Eggner Trio

General Information

Year of Foundation:  1997

The Austrian Eggner Trio is one of the most recognised and well-known of today's leading piano trios.

Founded in 1997 by three brothers - Georg (violin), Florian (cello), and Christoph (piano) – the trio regularly performs in such distinguished venues as Wigmore Hall in London and the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam.

The Eggner Trio has appeared throughout Europe, in Japan, Argentina, Uruguay, the USA and quite frequently in Australia and New Zealand. International festivals in which they have performed include the Kissinger Summer, the Schubertiade in Schwarzenberg, the Heidelberg Spring and the Chamber Music Festival in Lockenhaus.

The trio received international recognition in 2003 when they won the Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition in Australia. In 2006, through the European Concert Hall Organisation “Rising Stars” series, they played concerts in such venues as Carnegie Hall, Cité de la Musique in Paris, the Festspielhaus in Baden-Baden, the Philharmonie in Cologne, the Mozarteum in Salzburg and the Musikverein in Vienna. (more info:

Lineup/Description of Style

Band/Ensemble MemberInstrument

Discography, Performances, Projects


  • 2008: Beethoven Piano Trios; Live Classics München (LCL 806)
  • 2008: Eggner Trio: Schostakowisch, Eröd; (Gramola 98837)
  • 2009: Eggner Trio: Mendelssohn Piano Trios; Live Classics München (LCL 809)
  • 2010: Eggner Trio: Kaleidoskop (Gramola 98906)
  • 2013: Eggner Trio: Clara Schumann, Johannes Brahms Klaviertrios (Gramola 98977)
  • 2016: Eggner Trio: Piano Trios von Werner Pirchner (Gramola 99121)


The Eggner Trio plays contemporary music works by:

  • Roland BATIK: 4 Intermezzi for Piano Trio (2001)
  • Johannes BERAUER: Piano Trio no. 1 (2006/2007)
  • Ross EDWARDS: Piano Trio (1998)
  • Iván ERÖD: Klaviertrio Nr. 1, op. 21 (1976)
  • Andreas ETLINGER: Trio in e (1997)
  • Ian MUNRO: Piano Trio no. 1, „Tales from Old Russia“ (2008)
  • Sascha PERES: 7 Präludien mit Prolog und Epilog (2009)
  • Astor PIAZZOLLA: „The 4 seasons“ arranged for Piano Trio by José Bragato
  • Werner PIRCHNER: „Wem gehört der Mensch... ? PWV 31 (1988)
  • Werner PIRCHNER: Heimat? PWV 29b (1992)
  • Werner PIRCHNER: „Heute war gestern morgen . . . heute ist morgen gestern.“ PWV 63 (1997)
  • John PSATHAS: Three Island Songs (1995/1999)
  • Anthony RITCHIE: Oppositions for Piano Quartet (2005)
  • Gerrit WUNDER: Sequentia Miraculi (2010)

Commissioning Organisation of (Person)

Performing Band/Ensemble of (Composition)

Commissioning Organisation of (Composition)

Contact, Links

Website:  Eggner Trio