music database

The mica-music database contains comprehensive entries on contemporary Austrian composers, performers, bands and ensembles. The main focus currently lies on the genres contemporary music and jazz.
An extensive presentation of performers from other genres can be found in the SR-Archive for Austrian pop music:, women in electronical music:,

Full discographies by Austrian performers are listed under:

The English version of the composer-database was co-funded by the Ernst von Siemens Foundation and by the AKM.

Aus der Musikdatenbank

Pia Palme © Maria Frodl


Pia Palme is a composer, musician, festival founder and interdisciplinary project designer. She once casted a 100 person choir for the premiere of an experimental composition. Since 2007 she has been doing internationally pioneering work with a completely newly developed sub-bass. In 2009 she commissioned 4 compositions for this instrument which were financed by the SKE and the Küng Blockflöten GmbH.


To Pia Palme, improvisation is just as important as composition and she refers to herself as a sound-fetishist. She founded the festival e-may in 2007 together with the vocal performer Gina Mattiello in order to create a space and commissions for contemporary experimental music.

Über die Musikdatenbank